Home  |  About SITC  |  Contact Us


SITC 2015 awards recognized the lifetime achievements of a key leader, as well as support the advancement of early career scientists and up-and-coming researchers in the cancer immunotherapy field.

In celebration of our 30th year of advancing cancer immunotherapy worldwide, SITC presented 30 travel awards to young investigators recognizing excellence in novel research,  providing young investigators with the experience necessary for successful careers and acknowledging the need for the next generation of cancer immunologists to engage with luminaries in the field.

All awards were supported by the Forward Fund. To learn more about the awards, and for a list of recipients, download the 30th Anniversary Award Ceremony booklet here.

Richard V. Smalley, MD Memorial Award

In memory of past Society president and charter member, Dr. Richard V. Smalley, SITC is proud to present the Richard V. Smalley, MD Memorial Award each year to a recognizable clinician or scientist and luminary in the field that has significantly contributed to the advancement of cancer immunotherapy research.

Established in 2005, the Society’s most prestigious award serves to honor those that have been pioneers in their work and made a notable impact worthy of high regard and recognition by their peers.

Learn about this year's Smalley Award recipient, Tasuku Honjo, MD, PhD, here.

Young Investigator Awards*

Beginning in 1991, SITC established the Presidential Award to recognize the young investigator deemed to have the most outstanding oral abstract presentation at the SITC Annual Meeting. From there, SITC expanded its award opportunities and created an additional six Abstract Travel Awards in 2008.

Now in 2015, SITC offered 30 Young Investigator Awards, all recognizing excellence in novel research and providing young investigators with the experience necessary for successful careers. Learn more.

*All Young Investigator Awards required SITC membership to qualify.

30th Anniversary Award Ceremony

Maryland Ballroom
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | 5:45 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

All SITC 2015 awards were presented at the 30th Anniversary Award Ceremony. In addition to the awards listed above, the ceremony featured recipients of the 2015 SITC-Merck Cancer Immunotherapy Clinical Fellowship Award, the SITC-MRA Pilot Award, JITC Best Paper Awards and the 30th Anniversary Special Recognition Awards, which include the SITC Visionary/Legacy Awards, SITC Outstanding Member/Volunteer Awards, SITC Spirit Awards and the SITC Collaborator Awards.

The Award Ceremony was immediately followed by the Milestones & Momentum 30th Anniversary Reception at the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum.


2015 Annual Meeting 2015 Annual Meeting 2015 Annual Meeting 2015 Annual Meeting 2015 Annual Meeting

Save the Date!

Save the dates for SITC 2016!
November 9 – 13, 2016
Gaylord National Hotel & Convention Center, National Harbor, Maryland

Thank You, Supporters!

Thank you, SITC 2015 supporters. Because of your generosity, SITC 2015 was a great success!

Interested in supporting other SITC programs? Confirm your support today!

Connect with SITC!

SITC: Join Today